MUSIC LYF: MYMP Celebrates A Decade In Music With "Electrified"

MYMP has been part of our lives especially the students and the yuppies of today. With songs that have touched the lives in one way or another continues to reinvent classics and original tracks that tickle our heartstrings.

Now they are back to celebrate a decade in the OPM music with an anniversary album “Electrified” released under Galaxy Records distributed by PolyEast Records. Containing 2 original tracks and 8 acoustic rendition of classic love songs perfect for easy listening.

Though there have been a lot of changes in the group, struggles and hectic schedules, MYMP still proves and still consistent with the brand of music that many have loved. MYMP consists of Chin Alcantara on guitars and vocals, Jana Laraza on vocals, Ibey Haber on bass, Hannche Bobis on keyboards and Joel Tolentino on drums. For this album, Jana is introduced as the new female vocalist. She was discovered via her covers of MYMP hits in soundcloud.

MYMP is also making waves in other countries too like South Korea and Indonesia along with fellow OPM artists who are very successful in the region. They are also looking forward to release their album soon in these countries this year. 

“Our music and concept in our previous albums were always centered on the acoustic sound and in this album we would like to introduce to our listeners our new "sound". Instead of just being "unplugged" or being limited to acoustic guitar, we wanted to be amplified hence the term "electrified".  We wanted to add more electric instruments and other instruments as well. We wanted to explore“ said Chin Alcantara, MYMP’s band leader and vocalist.  

The album boasts its first single titled “Electrified” with new member Jana Laraza on vocals and comes with a music video that is quite different from their previous performance video. Chin shared, “We played different characters which adds to the humor. Our manager (Tere Tinio) and I thought of the concept. We recently had a show in Korea and we we're really overwhelmed by our group's popularity there. That's why we did a K-Pop theme as a tribute to the Koreans' appreciation for our music.”

Asked about the story behind the first single, Chin also shared “The song is like reminiscing your high school crush and getting the same feeling as "electrified". That feeling would last for days and would only add to your hopes that someday she/he would like you too. I thought everyone could relate to that.” 

As testament to the magic that happens when their music as a band lasted for 10 years—despite their individual influences to defying odds of the industry to creating something unique up to this moment— the band remains grounded. ”People recognize us as being just an acoustic duo. In reality we always perform with our back-up band and we're not limited to just acoustic renditions. In our new album, it feels like starting out again. People are used to hearing us with a familiar tune but the response with this new original song is surprisingly good. Well the plan has never changed. Create and re-create music and share it to the world.” Chin added. 

As Electrified breathes new life into the band’s catalogue since MYMP was formed in 1996 and released their first album in 2003. Chin said “Although it's our 10th year in the recording business, MYMP is already 17 years in the music scene. We will continue creating and re-creating music that will cross cultural, language and international barriers just like what happened in Indonesia and Korea.” 

Adding up to the six albums ever since MYMP was born in 1996, the seventh CD Electrified includes revivals from the 80s and 90s and emphasizes the band’s truest strengths; their outstanding songwriting and superb harmonies in two original cuts titled “How Much I Love You” and carrier single “Electrified.”

“We can never really go away from what people are used to hearing from us. But in this album we've started adding other instruments rather than just the acoustic guitar. So even though we're evolving, we make it a point not to put too much of anything to distract and take away the attention from the voice and the melody.”

With the release of MYMP’s new album, the band is preparing a tour that will feature radio promotion and mall shows around and outside the country. Electrified is now available in stores nationwide released by Galaxy Records distributed by PolyEast Records and on digital format.
Like MYMP on Instagram/faceboook : makeyourmommaproud
Follow Twitter: MYMP2010 
# # #
The 10-song offering includes:

1.) Too Many Broken Hearts
2.) Just A Smile Away
3.) You’re In Love
4.) Gravity
5.) Givin’ Up On You
6.) Tell Me
7.) How Much I Love You
8.) Unwritten
9.) Bakit Ba Ganyan
10.) Electrified

No comments:

Post a Comment

World's Thinnest Foldable Phone HONOR Magic V2 Now Available, HONOR Opens New Experience Store at SM Megamall Cyberzone

You may now purchase HONOR Magic V2, The World’s Thinnest Foldable Phone, online and in selected stores for Php 79,999!  HONOR Star Pauline ...