39th National MILO Marathon ready to welcome champions in Manila

The city is abuzz with excitement for the Manila qualifying leg of the 39th National MILO Marathon on July 26, Sunday. The country’s biggest and most prestigious footrace will see children, students, aspiring runners and professional athletes of all ages on its running routes at the SM Mall of Asia grounds, Pasay City.

Elite runners including Eric Panique and Criselyn Jaro will look to break records and defeat their fiercest rivals to clinch the top purse. Prizes await the winners of the 42K division race, who will receive Php 50,000 in cash and a trophy, while the victors of the 21K division will receive a cash prize of Php 10,000 and a trophy. All runners who finish within the specified age-bracket and cut-off time per division will also receive a coveted slot in the National Finals in Angeles on December 6 for a chance to be crowned the 2015 MILO Marathon King and Queen.

This year’s MILO Marathon King and Queen will be sent by MILO to the USA on all-expense paid trips, for a chance to run in the prestigious 2016 Boston Marathon, the world's oldest annual marathon. One of the six World

Marathon Majors, the Boston Marathon ranks as one of the world's best-known road racing events. It is considered as the Mecca of all races, where the best of the best runners compete.

Young racers will also join in the fun in the 3K and 5K divisions. Celebrity runners are also expected to participate in the running events, including MILO APEX Running School founder and The Biggest Loser Philippines coach Jim Saret, his wife and fellow coach Toni Saret, and running enthusiast and triathlete Kuya Kim Atienza.

The gun start for participants of the 42K run is at 3:00AM, the 21K run at 4:30AM, 10K run at 5:00AM, 3K run at 5:30AM and 5K run at 5:35AM. The starting line will be adjacent to the finish line at the Seaside Boulevard of SM MOA.

Motorists are advised that from 2:00AM-9:00AM, Roxas Boulevard (northbound and southbound), Macapagal Boulevard (southbound) and J.W. Diokno Boulevard will be closed. From 2:00AM-11:00AM, Seaside Boulevard and Coral Way of the SM Mall of Asia will also be closed, as well as westbound to Makati Avenue, from 3:00AM-9:00AM. Due to these road closures and increased volume of pedestrian traffic, vehicles going to Cavite and Baclaran are advised to take Macapagal Boulevard, while those going to the south may take Padre Burgos Avenue, Taft Avenue, Mabini Street and F.B. Horrison Street. Those headed to Manila may take Taft Avenue and F.B. Horrison Street.

The 39th National MILO Marathon is made possible by Timex, the Bayview Park Hotel Manila, ASICS, Smart, Subaru, Hisense and Salonpas, along with endorsements from the Department of Education, Philippine Sports Commission and the Philippine Olympic Committee.

For more information on MILO Philippines, log on to the official website (http://www.milo.com.ph) or the MILO Philippines Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/milo.ph). Follow MILO on Twitter (@MiloPH) and Instagram (@MiloPhilippines).

No comments:

Post a Comment

City of Sto. Tomas, Batangas Mayor starts the ball rolling for NJLA-LGU English Proficiency through Literature project

MOA Signing of NJLA-City of Sto. Tomas Batangas English Proficiency through Literature project. (L-R) Loida S. Virtudazo, Executive Vice Pre...