"A Dog's Way Home" OST With Music by Award-Winning Mychael Danna Out Now

Sony Music announces the release of A DOG’S WAY HOME (ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK) with music by Oscar®, Golden Globe® and Emmy® winning composer MYCHAEL DANNA – available everywhere January 11.  Based on the book by W. Bruce Cameron and directed by Charles Martin Smith, Columbia Pictures’ A Dog’s Way Home makes its debut in Philippine theaters nationwide on February 06.

“In the grand tradition of classic films, A Dog’s Way Home inspired me to write a classic melody-driven score, performed by a Hollywood studio orchestra and the added colors of banjo, ukulele, guitar and piano. It is a moving experience to feel how an audience is unified in their connection with Bella. I loved taking this journey with her and telling her story with music,” said composer Mychael Danna.

A Dog’s Way Home chronicles the heartwarming adventure of Bella, a dog who embarks on an epic 400-mile journey home after she is separated from her beloved human. The screenplay is by W. Bruce Cameron & Cathryn Michon based on the book by W. Bruce Cameron. The film is produced by Gavin Polone and Robert J. Dohrmann, T.D. Jakes, Derrick Williams and Yu Dong serve as executive producers. The film stars Ashley Judd, Jonah Hauer-King, Edward James Olmos and Alexandra Shipp with Wes Studi and Bryce Dallas Howard. 


Artist: Mychael Danna

Release Date: January 11, 2019

  1. Baby Bella   
  2. Mother Dog is Taken   
  3. Mother Cat   
  4. Meet Bella   
  5. Play Time   
  6. Squirrel!   
  7. Sneaking In   
  8. Bella at the VA   
  9. Practicing Go Home   
  10. Squirrel Chase   
  11. Impounded   
  12. To New Mexico   
  13. Good Dog Moon   
  14. Jump the Fence   
  15. Begin the Journey   
  16. Rabbit Chase   
  17. Foraging With Friends   
  18. Continue the Journey   
  19. Big Kitty   
  20. As Time Passed   
  21. Coyote Chase   
  22. Campers   
  23. Avalanche   
  24. Rescue   
  25. Bella Adopted   
  26. Bella Has to Leave   
  27. Axel    
  28. Chained   
  29. Bella is Freed   
  30. Coyote Attack   
  31. Reunion   
  32. Goodbye Big Kitty   
  33. Highway Crossing   
  34. Almost Home   
  35. Where's Lukas?  
  36. End of the Journey   


MYCHAEL DANNA (Composer) is an Academy Award®-winning film composer recognized for his evocative blending of non-western traditions with orchestral and electronic music. His body of work includes his Oscar®-winning score for Ang Lee’s Life of Pi following his collaborations with Lee on The Ice Storm (1997) and Ride with the Devil (1999).   Danna also received the 2013 Golden Globe® Award for Life of Pi. His passion for presenting complex ideas in a musically accessible way began as Danna learned his craft at the University of Toronto. There, he was exposed to early and world music that later influenced his style. Danna earned the school’s inaugural Glenn Gould Composition Award in 1985 and also began scoring for student theatre groups, as he launched his artistic partnership with Canadian director Atom Egoyan.
His other celebrated collaborations include those with Bennett Miller on his multiple Oscar®-nominee Moneyball, in 2011 and his Oscar®-winning drama Capote, in 2005; with Terry Gilliam on his Oscar®-nominated The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus, in 2009, and Tideland, in 2005; with Mira Nair on Vanity Fair, in 2004, Monsoon Wedding, in 2001 and Kama Sutra: A Tale of Love, in 1996; and with Billy Ray on Breach, in 2007 and Shattered Glass, in 2003. Danna’s credits also include the 2006 Oscar®-winning Little Miss Sunshine, for which he shared a Grammy® Award nomination for Best Compilation Soundtrack Album; Marc Webb’s acclaimed romantic comedy (500) Days of Summer in 2009; and James Mangold’s 1999 Oscar®-winning film Girl, Interrupted.

For television, Mychael won the Emmy® Award for Outstanding Music Composition for a Miniseries, Movie or Special (Original Dramatic Score) for World Without End (2013).  Mychael and Jeff Danna recently wrote the original music for the Margaret Atwood dramatization of Alias Grace for Netflix which premiered in September 2017.  They were Emmy® nominated in 2018 for their work on Alias Grace for Outstanding Composition for a Limited Series, Movie or Special (Original Dramatic Score).  Mychael was also Emmy® nominated in 2018 for The Last Tycoon for Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music.  Mychael and Jeff Danna also previously wrote the music for the FX series Tyrant, which earned them both Emmy® nominations in the categories of Outstanding Music Composition for a Series (Original Dramatic Score) and Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music in 2015. They were also Emmy®-nominated for Camelot in 2011.
In 2015, Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna worked on the score for Pixar’s The Good Dinosaur and received an Annie nomination for Outstanding Achievement, Music in an Animated Feature Production.  Mychael also scored the Oscar®-nominated short preceding the film, Sanjay’s Super Team. Mychael and Jeff wrote the original score for Storks for Warner Animation Group which was released in 2016.  Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna wrote the original score for the Oscar®-nominated animated film The Breadwinner, which had its world premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival in September 2017.  Mychael and Jeff were Annie nominated for their original score for the film and won the best original music award from the Annecy International Animation Festival in France.  Mychael also wrote the music for 2017’s The Man Who Invented Christmas, starring Dan Stevens and Christopher Plummer.

Mychael most recently wrote the original score for the feature film On the Basis of Sex, a dramatic feature starring Felicity Jones and Armie Hammer and directed by Mimi Leder about the early story of U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg.  The film was released by Focus Features on December 25, 2018. 

Among Mychael’s other awards are the Frederick Loewe Award for Film Composing (2013), the World Soundtrack Awards for Film Composer of the Year and Best Score of the Year (both 2013), and the Hollywood Film Award for Composer of the Year (2016).

No comments:

Post a Comment

James Wan and Jason Blum, powerhouse team-up behind “M3gan,” are back with “Night Swim,” now showing

In 2014, director Bryce McGuire made Night Swim, an acclaimed five-minute short shot in the backyard of Grammy-winning musician Michelle Bra...