Cheers To The Winners of MMFF 2016!

This year's MMFF was indeed a game changer with the 8 entries that gave the festival a whole new light and impact to the public. The festival included showcased the films like Kabisera, Oro, Sunday Beauty Queen, Saving Sally, Vince Kath & James, Ang Babae Sa Septic Tank 2 #ForeverIsNotEnough, Seklusyon and Die Beautiful. There is also a showcase of short films that were shown before the feature film. This changes did make the festival a refreshing experience to moviegoers.

I have watched 6 of the 8 films which I am very entertained. And with that I have my own favorites and bets for the awards night. HOOQ, Asia’s largest video-on-demand service, remained the exclusive presenter of the 42nd Metro Manila Film Festival and its New Wave category.

Check the photos of the Gabi ng Parangal here.

In his speech, Metro Manila Development Authority Thomas Orbos said, “We are gathered here together not only to seek change but also to look back to the original theme of the MMFF which is to be a festival that celebrates Filipino artistic excellence.

Change is never easy, it is a difficult path, but thanks to the MMFF Executive Committee we are here today amidst change. We believe that what we did with the MMFF this year may not be recognized now, but it will be appreciated by future generations. It is not about the money, it is about what we can give to our children later on by promoting quality films in the Philippines.”

“In a year marked by big changes in the MMFF, we are proud to say that our full support for the premiere movie festival in the country has remained the same,” said Jane Cruz-Walker, HOOQ Philippines Country Manager. “We welcome another year of partnership with the Metro Manila Film Festival, and we are proud to be part of the festival as it takes brave new steps in focusing on quality films, fresh casting choices and new approaches to filmmaking.”

Erik Matti’s Seklusyon proved to be the big winner at the 42ND METRO MANILA FILM FESTIVAL GABI NG PARANGAL held December 29, 2016 at the Kia Theater, Araneta Center, Cubao, Quezon City.

The movie brought home eight awards including Best Director for Erik Matti; Best Supporting Actress Phoebe Walker; Special Jury Prize Rhed Bustamante; Best Screenplay; Best Sound; Best Production Design; Best Cinematography and Best Theme Song for Dominus Miserere.

Sunday Beauty Queen, the very first documentary to be included in the annual festival was chosen as Best Picture.

Irma Adlawan won the coveted Best Actress category for the movie Oro, while Paolo Ballesteros was chosen as Best Actor for his performance in Die Beautiful. Newcomer Christian Bables got the most cheers after being named Best Supporting Actor for his role as Barbs in Die Beautiful.

HOOQ likewise gave out its own set of awards for the Short Films category including Best Screenplay: Mitatang; Best Director: Jarell Serencio Mga Bituin sa Siyudad; Special Jury Prize for Manila Scream; and Best Picture for EJK.

Ronnie Alonte and Rhian Ramos meanwhile, were recognized as the HOOQ Male and Female Celebrities of the Night for their stunning looks at the red carpet.


HOOQ is the home of the largest collection of Pinoy movies and TV series spanning almost five decades, including close to a hundred winners and finalists of the Metro Manila Film Festival such as “Baler”, “Tanging Yaman”, “Muro Ami”, “Imortal”, the beloved franchises such as “Mano Po”, “Tanging Ina” “Shake, Rattle and Roll” and many more. New additions on HOOQ from the MMFF past entries include 2013’s “Pagpag: Siyam na Buhay”, “Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy” as well as the 2015 finalist “Haunted Mansion”.

According to Jeffrey Remigio, HOOQ Philippines Director of Content and Programming, they are adding more past MMFF winners to HOOQ’s carefully curated library of Filipino titles.


MMFF and HOOQ are also working together to encourage the next generation of movie makers through the HOOQ Short Films category. HOOQ awarded a host of Short Film prizes including the Special Jury Prize and the Best Short Film.

Each HOOQ Short Film was partnered with a long-form finalist and were screened during the MMFF regular theater run from December 25 to January 3. Each film runs under 5 minutes and most will be available on HOOQ shortly after conclusion of the Metro Manila Film Festival.

“Last year, we saw a lot of very interesting entries that surprised us with their quick narratives and creative storytelling techniques,” added Remigio. “HOOQ believes in nurturing these next generation of film makers by providing them a platform where more audiences can view their movies.”

“The world has begun to take notice of the best content Philippine cinema can offer, by supporting these young filmmakers, HOOQ is also investing in the future of entertainment,” adds Remigio.


The festival kicked off with the annual Parade of Stars on December 23 which began at the Manila City Hall at Nicanor Lopez Street and ended at Plaza Miranda—the original route used in the very first MMFF Float Parade.

Among the stars that participated in the Grand Parade of Stars were Nora Aunor, Eugene Domingo, Paolo Ballesteros, Kean Cipriano, Julia Barretto, Joshua Garcia, Ronnie Alonte, Dominic Roque, Mercedes Cabral and many others.

Bela Padilla also joined the parade aboard HOOQ’s OTJ float. Padilla is one of the lead stars of the upcoming series OTJ: The Missing 8, the very first original local content produced exclusively for the video on demand service.

Here is the complete list of winners of the 2016 Metro Manila Film Festival Awards Night co-presented by HOOQ.

  • Best Picture - Sunday Beauty Queen
  • Best Director - Erik Matti (Seklusyon)
  • Best Actress - Irma Adlawan (Oro)
  • Best Actor - Paolo Ballesteros (Die Beautiful)
  • Best Supporting Actress - Phoebe Walker (Seklusyon)
  • Best Supporting Actor - Christian Balbes (Die Beautiful)
  • Children's Choice - Saving Sally, Sunday Beauty Queen and Vince & Kath & James
  • People's Choice - (voted online) Die Beautiful
  • Best Cast Ensemble - Oro
  • Special Jury Prize - Rhed Bustamante (Seklusyon)
  • Best Screenplay - Seklusyon
  • Best Sound - Seklusyon
  • Best Musical Score - Saving Sally
  • Best Theme Song – Dominus Miserere (Francis De Veyra) Seklusyon
  • Best Production Design - Seklusyon
  • Best Editing - Sunday Beauty Queen
  • Best Cinematography - Seklusyon
  • FPJ Memorial Award for Excellence - Oro
  • Gatpuno Antonio J Villegas Cultural Award - Sunday Beauty Queen
  • Best Float - Die Beautiful

No comments:

Post a Comment