GMA News' Launches The Future Of Journalism With "Stand For Truth"

It's time to level up to the new style of news casting, with a new breed of journalists that will now go mobile to capture where the news happened and even as it happened. GMA News and Public Affairs made another milestone with their new online news show "Stand for Truth: powered by GMA’s Digital Video Lab."

Starting April 15, this YouTube exclusive show will start its broadcast led by the top calibre journalists and hosts Atom Araullo, Richard Heydarian, and Joyce Pring. There are also the new breed of reporters who auditioned, selected, and trained under the guidance and wisdom of veteran journalists of GMA News and Public Affairs.

The show runs for only 15 minutes yet they assures viewers that it will be informative, concise, and will cater to the millennial generation who wants content short and appealing, and they are the most common targets of fake news that have been circulating and causing a lot of misinformation to the public.

Leading the young team of anchors is multi-awarded young documentarist, writer, photographer, and United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) advocate Atom Araullo. Atom anchors the Stand for Truth from the middle of the GMA Social Media Hub. From there, he will also be an active reporter and a mentor to the young reporters.

Joining Atom is GMA resident political analyst Richard Heydarian. Richard will provide on the spot analysis of the biggest news of the day. He will also present a data-driven segment showing the numbers involved in an issue, the history, and the policies behind it. Born in Baguio, Richard took up Political Science at the University of the Philippines-Diliman and previously taught at De La Salle University and the Ateneo De Manila University. Richard is known for his expertise in the South China Sea dispute and Philippine current affairs.

Meanwhile, Joyce Pring will be in charge of the music segment of “Stand for Truth” using the language and #hugots of the generation. The Kapuso host will also interview some of today’s biggest bands and musicians in the country. Joyce is one of the hosts of the longest-running morning show Unang Hirit and’s Kapuso Artistambayan. She also produces the podcast #AdultingWithJoycePring and uploads vlogs on her YouTube channel every week. 

Aside from these experienced media personalities, a new breed of young reporters will take the spotlight in Stand for Truth. Young, aspiring journalists from Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao sent in their sample mobile video reports using GMA’s YouScoop facility. They went through several levels of audition process until only 10 of them were chosen to undergo trainings and workshops by some of the country’s most-awarded and highly-esteemed broadcast journalists to continue the legacy of the GMA newsroom.

These short-listed Stand for Truth reporters include:

  • Bhea Jeem Docyogen, an Igorot and radio disc jockey from Baguio
  • Anthony Esguerra, a  multimedia reporter, fellow in New Media and Journalism at Ball State University, Indiana, USA
  • Asmarie Labao, a former forester and DENR Information Officer from Marawi
  • Shai Lagarde, former TV producer and currently a lifestyle vlogger
  • Ardo Miravalles, Certified Public Account specializing in the media and entertainment industry
  • Darwin Quirino, Communications Officer for Department of Foreign Affairs-Office of Middle East and African Affairs
  • Manal Sugadol, a licensed English teacher and a former administrative assistant from Cotobato
  • Larize Lee, Chinese-Filipino and GMA Artist Center’s Public Relations Executive
  • Eduard Faraon, a Senior High School campus journalist
  • Jerald Uy, former TV reporter, Road Safety Advocate, and vlogger.
"The future of news is here" is their battle cry because of their innovation and unconventional format for news-casting that is also revolutionary not only in the Philippines but for the region which is a very powerful social media and internet audience.

Catch “Stand for Truth: powered by GMA’s Digital Video Lab”, Monday to Friday, 8 p.m. beginning April 15 on and

No comments:

Post a Comment