PH’s Top Tennis Players Face Off in PPTO Nueva Ecija Leg

Edilyn Balanga battled her way to winning the PPTO Nueva Ecija
leg women’s singles and women’s doubles championships.
The Peugeot Philippines Tennis Open (PPTO) Nueva Ecija leg recently saw some of the country’s best tennis players battle it out to bag the championship crowns at the Center Court Tennis Club in Cabanatuan City.

Current Philippine Tennis Association’s (PHILTA) Women’s Singles No. 6 Edilyn Balanga faced No. 7 Marinel Rudas in the championship match of the third regional qualifier leg of the PPTO. Balanga emerged triumphant, 6-3, 6-4.

Before their women’s singles championship duel, Balanga and Rudas teamed up for the doubles championship match against Hanna Espinosa and Erika Manduriao. The latter’s combined firepower was no match for Balanga and Rudas as proven by a 6-3, 6-5 scoreboard.

Meanwhile, former De La Salle University tennis player Alberto Villamor and Baguio’s top player Jet Tangalin gave their all in the men’s singles championship match. Villamor, who lost in the first set (2-6), bounced back and swept the second (6-3) and third sets (6-2) to beat Tangalin. Prior to Tangalin, Villamor took on Vince Salas in the semi-finals match of the PPTO Nueva Ecija leg that lasted for two hours and 40 minutes, the longest match recorded in the tournament’s run to date.

Despite losing to Villamor, Salas won the men’s doubles division with partner Al Michael Madrio. The duo beat John Mari Altiche and Kyle Parpan with the score 6-3, 6-1.

PPTO Nueva Ecija leg Men’s Singles champion Alberto Villamor was all smiles as he posed with the PPTO Nueva Ecija leg organizers and representatives from Peugeot Nueva Ecija.
“The Nueva Ecija leg has been our most exciting leg yet, with the participation of some of our country’s top tennis players who displayed their skill and talent in the court,” Glen Dasig, Peugeot Philippines President, said. “We are eager to witness similar high intensity, exciting matches in the last two legs of the PPTO in Cebu and Manila in early 2016.”

Aside from cash prizes from Peugeot Philippines and giveaways from tournament sponsor, Wilson, champions of the PPTO Nueva Ecija leg will face the other winners of the four (4) other regional qualifying legs in the National Finals to be held in Manila in February 2016.

Summary of PPTO Nueva Ecija Winners:

Division Players Winners Prizes

Men’s Singles Alberto Villamor vs Jet Tangalin Alberto Villamor (2-6, 6-3, 6-2) Php 20,000 cash prize; 1 Wilson Juice 100 BLX; Transport & Lodging for National Finals


Singles Edilyn Balanga vs Marinel Rudas Edilyn Balanga (6-3, 6-4) Php 20,000 cash prize; 1 Wilson Juice 100 BLX; Transport & Lodging for National Finals

Men’s Doubles Vince Salas and Al Vince Salas and Al Php 11,000 cash prize (per

Michael Madrio vs John Mari Altiche and Kyle Parpan Michael Madrio (6-3, 6-1) pair); Transport & Lodging for National Finals


Doubles Edilyn Balanga and Marinel Rudas vs Hanna Espinosa and Erika Manduriao Edilyn Balanga and Marinel Rudas (6-3, 7-5) Php 11,000 cash prize (per pair); Transport & Lodging for National Finals

The next PPTO regional leg will be held in Cebu on January 9-15, 2016. Filipino tennis players aged 13 and above who are interested in joining the competition simply need to head to the nearest Peugeot dealership, regional representatives or visit the official PPTO 2015 website ( to register online and download the necessary registration and waiver forms. A fee of Php 500 is required to be paid in full when the players check-in on Day 1 to complete their entry in the tournament.

The PPTO is brought to you in part by Smart and Total. For other PPTO information, updates and results, players may also visit the tournament’s official Facebook page:

No comments:

Post a Comment

City of Sto. Tomas, Batangas Mayor starts the ball rolling for NJLA-LGU English Proficiency through Literature project

MOA Signing of NJLA-City of Sto. Tomas Batangas English Proficiency through Literature project. (L-R) Loida S. Virtudazo, Executive Vice Pre...