MUSIC LYF: 1:43 Releases Debut Slambook-Album

Time for Love

OPM pop heartthrobs 1:43 (pronounced as “one forty-three”) have finally released their much-anticipated debut slambook-album titled “Time for Love” under MCA Music.

Now available in all major record stores nationwide, the slambook album or “slambum” features interesting and revealing trivia about the boys of 1:43; exclusive photos; and a collection of feel-good original Pinoy pop songs, including their minus one versions.

1:43 is composed of four talented, charming, and stylish lads, namely, Anjo Resurreccion, a University of Santo Tomas Psychology graduate and a member of a university theater group; Gold Aquino, a Business Administration student from the Centro Escolar University (CEU) and a campus heartthrob; Kim Nicolas, a Nursing student from Trinity University of Asia and a Candy Magazine model; and Yuki Sakamoto, an Hotel and Restaurant Management student from CEU-Makati and the main vocalist of the group.

“Time for Love” is a mini-album that contains a refreshing mix of five original and distinctly Filipino pop songs, plus their respective minus one tracks. The slambum aspires to define the sound of today’s OPM pop genre, as it brings together critically acclaimed producer and arranger Jonathan Ong of SonicState Studio and brilliant singer-composer and vocal arranger Myrus in an impressive creative synergy.

The opening track and 1:43’s latest hit single, “PiNK” (Pag-Ibig Na Kaya?), is a collaboration track with Myrus. Penned by Eric Cabahug, “PiNK” is a catchy song about falling in love. Top music blogger describes the song as "an example of how good Filipino pop can be."

“Para Kang” is a song composed by multi-awarded composer Jojo Panaligan. It is a witty, metaphorical expression of the miracle that is love. Fun, playful and lively, the lyrics and melody are reminiscent of the sound of 90s pop rock.

Fans will definitely fall in love with “Sa Puso Ko’y Ikaw”, a song that declares a deep, sincere and honest love. The is the first recorded song composition by Myrus--and listening to this track is like getting hit by Cupid's arrow! It’s potentially a big hit with its catchy, radio-friendly, easy-listening melody and commercial appeal.

“Time For Love”, the title track, is the only English song in the album. It is an upbeat song that gives tribute to 1:43’s cult following and their official fans club who call themselves “Time for Love” or T4L. This song is a collaboration between Cabahug, who wrote the lyrics, and Myrus, who did the melody.

“Merry Christmas Na” is another Cabahug composition. Released as a promotional single in December 2010, this is the controversial song that made the boys of 1:43 instant Youtube celebrities. The song became number one for several weeks in the P-Pop Music Chart, and has garnered over 85,000 views in Youtube.

This early, the slambum has received encouraging reviews from music critics. According to “With this album, I find that 1:43 is committed to become an OPM pop act with a direction. The overall sound is genuine and distinctly good Filipino pop, something I rarely hear in mainstream music today, and something the boys of 1:43 are willing to deliver.”

“Time For Love” by 1:43 is presented by Glitz and Dreamgirl Cosmetics by 4U2 and is supported by Freshgear Jeans, Avida Towers, and the Mendez Medical Group.

More information and updates about 1:43 are available in their official Facebook fan page or you may call Chris Cahilig Talent Services at 6647213 or 6872649 and 92.

No comments:

Post a Comment