MUSIC LYF: MYMP is Back with The Unreleased Acoustic Collection

The Unreleased Acoustic Collection
MYMP is back after quite some time and while they were away, the acoustic scene in the Philippines slowed down a bit but there were also the rise of other acoustic artists making cover songs. But we love the one who started it all, and although Juris left the band, they have a new member Juliet that is a promising lead vocalist and have something new to offer yet have kept the band's classic songs charisma and feel.

Now with their new album THE UNRELEASED ACOUSTIC COLLECTION, with 14 tracks that were most requested and popular songs. Some of them were the renditions they made in their past gigs that still became a hit even it was never part of any of their albums. Now as they returned, they are giving their supporters what they want and more. Similar to their albums in the past, this collection tells us something about love and its many phases: friendship, intimacy, passion, reminiscence and loss. The whole package is sure to win the hearts of the love daydreamers and hopeless romantics.

Juliet Bahala was introduced on January 24, 2010 as the new vocalist of MYMP on ASAP. Juliet, an 18-year old regional singing champ, hails from Davao where Juris also came from. The other new members of MYMP are: Jeff Lima (drummer), Hannche Bobis (keyboardist); and Ibey Haber (bassist).

Still in the run towards the title as one of the most popular band acts of the Philippines, Make Your Momma Proud or MYMP still does it better. Contrary to some false updates, the band is strongly keeping up with all five members intact and working harder than ever. To prove such is the said release of their newest song collection.

We have all been familiar to the band’s acoustic show tune and pop rock approach, and it still hasn’t failed us. In this album, they tried to improve more on the sound, making sure each version of each revived song introduces their music’s distinctiveness over the other existing renditions. Juliet  shares her soothing performance of covers of the greatest hits of the 90’s such as, THINK OF LAURA (Christopher Cross), ‘TIL THEY TAKE MY HEART AWAY (Claire Marlo), POWER OF TWO (Emily Saliers), PIANO IN THE DARK (Brenda Russell) and BABY NOW THAT I FOUND YOU (John Macleod). The said songs topped the radio charts in their time and even the Filipinos’ most frequent song entries in the karaoke, making the album a must-have. Other songs included are SUPERMAN, FOREVER BLUE, CRUSIN’ , SOMEDAY WE’LL KNOW, DON’T DREAM IT’S OVER, BUSES and TRAINS, PEOPLE ARE PEOPLE, BREAKOUT and the carrier single SWAY (Bic Runga).

MYMP The Unreleased Acoustic Collection is an array of songs that have already been performed by the band in a lot of their gigs all over the country. Apparently, the song selection is based on their most requested songs. 

After years in the business and releasing 11 platinum albums, the band, in the ownership of Jacques “Chin” Alcantara (also their guitarist), continues to produce the country’s best acoustic covers. Indeed, MYMP is ready to do it again. 

MYMP The Unreleased Acoustic Collection is now available in all record bars nationwide, released by Galaxy Records distributed by PolyEast Records for only P299.00.

Catch MYMP The Unreleased Acoustic Collection on Robinsons Malls Mall Tour dates schedule. Special thanks to Mossimo and Shimmian.

May 13 – Robinsons Sta Rosa. Laguna
May 14 – Robinsons Summit Ridge Tagaytay
May 15 – Robinsons Lipa, Batangas
May 28 – Robinsons Starmills, Pampanga
May 29 – Robinsons Dasmarinas, Cavite

No comments:

Post a Comment